Multiple Big Matches Added To New Year’s Day WWE Raw

Multiple Big Matches Added To New Year's Day WWE Raw

WWE is starting the new year off strong with the first episode of Raw in 2024.

The January 1st edition of the Monday night show will see WWE revive the Day 1 branding to present a night of big matches. Back in 2022, the promotion presented the Day 1 Premium Live Event on New Year’s Day, but the standalone event was not continued the following year.

Multiple top championships will be defended on the January 1st Raw. In what is likely to be the main event, World Heavyweight Champion Seth Rollins will put the title on the line against Drew McIntyre in a rematch from Crown Jewel. As McIntyre has still yet to win a major championship with fans in attendance, The Scottish Warrior has made it clear that this is a must-win match for him.

Following Finn Balor and Damian Priest successfully defending the Undisputed Tag Team Championships against The Creed Brothers on the December 18th broadcast, Rhea Ripley will hope to continue The Judgment Day’s winning ways. Ripley will defend the title against Ivy Nile in what will be a first-time-ever match.

Issues from 2018 are also set to be addressed on Raw. In one of the most memorable moments in the show’s history, Nia Jax would punch Becky Lynch in the face and give The Man a concussion, sidelining her with injury for a number of weeks. Following the infamous spot, Lynch and Jax have only been in the same match together on 2 separate occasions; the 2019 and 2023 Women’s Royal Rumbles. With Jax now back in the company following her release in 2021, the two former Women’s Champions will finally face off.

The Line-Up For The January 1st 2024 WWE Raw Is As Follows:

  • Seth Rollins (c) vs. Drew McIntyre: Singles match for the World Heavyweight Championship
  • Rhea Ripley (c) vs. Ivy Nile: Singles match for the Women’s World Championship
  • Becky Lynch vs. Nia Jax
  • Natalya and Tegan Nox vs. Shayna Baszler and Zoey Stark: The winners will become the number one contenders for the WWE Women’s Tag Team Championships